Vintage Mommy and me


Hey Ya’ll!

So a friend of mine from college called me up.  It was an emergency.  What was the emergency?  They were taking family pictures that weekend and she needed new outfits for her and her  daughter.

So,  I am here to save the day!

For my friend’s  dress:

Fabric: Cotton

Pattern Description: Simplicity  1459

Pattern Sizing: I cut hers a U.S. size 14

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, it really did.  I didn’t cut a ribbon for the sash required, but I believe she has a belt that can match. She is very fashionable.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were super easy. They were pretty straightforward to me.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I really have no dislikes.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: As stated earlier,  I did not cut a ribbon for the sash. I also forgot to cut a second piece for the collar to use as facing. Instead, I serged the edges and hemmed with hem tape. It still worked out perfectly.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I would sew it again. The next time,  I would use contrasting colors. Maybe a solid color on top and a patterened fabric for the bottom.

For her daughter:

Fabric: cotton

Pattern Description:Simplicity 1289

Pattern Sizing: U.S. size 3

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The pattern was very simple,  even for a beginner.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I did not place the elastic in the sleeves. I also did not place the pocket and ribbon design on the front of the dress,  offer my friend’s  instructions.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I don’t have a daughter,  so I would have no need to.  Only for friends and family would I see it again.

Tell Me What Ya'll Think

