Hi-Low Peplum Jacket McCalls 6844


Hey Ya’ll!

I cannot believe the amount of sewing that I have done over the past few weeks! If any of you follow me on my social media, you know that I pretty much stepped away for a couple of weeks. It was a distraction, and I needed to step away to focus more on other things. Life is complicated enough without your phone pinging every few minutes, right?

Well today (3/19/16) was Children’s Choir Day at the Praise and Worship center that I attend. I had whipped up this jacket the day before and thought it would be nice to wear since the weather was cooler than usual. I really enjoyed this past week.

I know that God is blessing me spiritually, because I see the effect on those around me. I think that I will keep away from social media and check it every few weeks for my customers. I really did enjoy life away from that PULL that social media tries to have on me.

Anywhoooo…now for the jacket.

Pattern Description: McCall 6844

Pattern Sizing:US 12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?  Yes it did.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the instructions were very easy to follow. If I remember correctly, it only had 5 or 6 pieces, so the less the better.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?  I like the peplum on the jacket. I chose the view that had the hi-low peplum. Its a different look than what you normally see.

Fabric Used: Ankara, 100% cotton

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:  The pattern actually calls for knit fabric, and I chose to use woven (Im a rebel). I chose the same size that I would normally cut, but instead of the 5/8 seam allowance, I used a 1/2 seam allowance. I also added a sash to close the jacket, but the pattern doesnt call for one.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I would sew it again.

Conclusion:
This pattern is very simple. I think that a beginner would find no trouble at all.  If I sew it again, I don’t think that I would use the same pattern size I chose. I believe that I would actually go up a size. It is a nice fit, but it would really be uncomfortable if I wanted to wear long sleeves underneath it.

PhotoGrid_1458436727581PhotoGrid_145842542603720160319_17250920160319_17250520160319_17245620160319_165125-120160319_165413-120160319_165431-120160319_165144-120160319_165221-1

4 thoughts on “Hi-Low Peplum Jacket McCalls 6844

Tell Me What Ya'll Think

