Happy Resurrection Day! Simplicity 8014 ShirtDress!


Hey Ya’ll

I want to first began with with wishing everyone a Happy Resurrection Day!  Aren’t we all glad that Jesus Christ rose from the grave! He is Risen! May we all walk in newness of life through the life that He has afforded us through the horrible death that was afflicted upon Him.

We know that “Easter Sunday” is a day filled with bright Spring colors…and some people are a little more “festive” than others. (Raise your hand is you get tickled everytime you see a grown man dressed as a Now N Later!)

I decided to make a dress for this occasion. The fabric is from the Waverly Collection of fabrics at Wal-Mart.It is cotton and about $4.95/yd, I bought 3 yards. Now for the pattern review!

The shoes were from Target! I bought them during a BOGO SALE. Currently, they are shipping for free, so I suggest that you go online and buy NOW!

The jewelry I’m wearing was purchased from Paparazzi Consultant Kantrina Brown- Barker. Just click on her link and begin shopping! The best prices for sensible jewelry. I bought 3 pieces and paid a total of $22 (WHICH INCLUDED SHIPPING!). Each neckalace  comes with a set of earrings. I strongly suggest that you stop by!

20160327_10160320160327_101624-120160327_174441

PhotoGrid_1459092047409
Shoes:Target; Fabric:Wal-Mart (Waverly Collection); Belt: Wal-Mart; Jewelry: Paparazzi SalesPerson:Kantrina Brown-Barker

Pattern Description: Simplicity 8014

Pattern Sizing:US 12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?  Yes it did.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the instructions were very easy to follow. Straight to the point and everything was crystal clear.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I really liked the length of the skirt bottom. It wasnt too long, but it was acceptable for front row in church. I do appreciate the buttonhole guide as well.

Fabric Used:  100% cotton

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:  I didn’t make any changes to the pattern. Next time, I will omit the pockets so that it will appear smoother on the sides of the dress.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I would sew it again.

Conclusion:
This pattern is very simple. I think that a beginner would find no trouble at all. If you have a fear of buttonholes, I would strongly suggest looking up a few videos on Youtube before you get started.

4 thoughts on “Happy Resurrection Day! Simplicity 8014 ShirtDress!

Tell Me What Ya'll Think

