New Look 6446…The Summer Jumpsuit


Hey Ya’ll

My birthday is coming up and I know that I wanted to make something new and stylish…with little to no effort. Yes, I  know that it sounds bad.. I went looking for a pattern and came up with this New Look pattern for a jumpsuit.

I think that the finished look for the jumpsuit came together nicely. I did have to readjust a few measurements: waist and hip, in order for the jumpsuit to come together. I could not use the short zipper that they requested. I have a larger posterior end, and the zipper helped me to actually get into the jumpsuit. Lol.SAM_0149

Oh and the jumpsuit is definitely a try on as you go. I thought that I had everything together, but I was too smart for my own good. You will most definitely have to try on the straps to make sure they actually fit right once the piece is completed. Now, they did have that in the directions, but…um, I was overtaken in pride. Ha!

I will have to altar it again. It is very minute details. I will need to: adjust the straps, take in a little more at the waist, and take in the sides so that the back can fit more snugly. Again, the only reason these mistakes were made is due to my own errors.

 

I would love for you to tell me what you think and leave your comments below. Please make sure to follow me on my social media link: IG- RobertsWife_Collection 

 

 

Pattern Description: New Look 6446

Pattern Sizing: US 6- 18

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?  It did resemble the drawing

Were the instructions easy to follow? For the most part, the instructions were clear. I got confused when it came to actually placing the straps onto the jumpsuit. 

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I did not like the instructions for the straps and the lining. I think that too much wording at times will confuse anyone. 

Fabric Used:  Ankara

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:  I did not make the belt tie. I didnt have enough fabric to complete that part of the project, I think that a nice belt will do in its replacement.It called for a 12/14 inch zipper. I had to go with a longer one due to my waist/hip ratio.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? No, I would not sew thins again. It looks great once finished, but I might change my mind later.

Conclusion:
I think that it is a nice pattern, but it is definitely not for beginners.

PhotoGrid_1467303606409

PhotoGrid_1467303932294PhotoGrid_1467303811527

SAM_0182-1SAM_0185-1SAM_0194-1SAM_0181-1

 

2 thoughts on “New Look 6446…The Summer Jumpsuit

  1. Recently went shopping with my 20-something daughter and was so disappointed in choices that I went and bought some new patterns. Can’t wait to get started! Enjoyed your post very much!

    1. I understand your disappointment. I really hesitate to buy clothing now since I can make my own. I do more turning clothes inside out to check the stitching than actual buying.

Tell Me What Ya'll Think

