DIY Double Peplum Sleeve dress


Hey Y’all,

So how have you been? I have been so busy y’all that my sleep needed sleep. It doesn’t make sense. My body was telling me that I needed to just rest, and I listened. So I had to shut everything down. I’m slowly learning that I am not Superwoman and I CANNOT do it all.

But…what I can do is look at pictures. I was on Pinterest and I ran across this gorgeous photo.

img_20161007_103741
Inspiration Photo

I just thought that this was the most gorgeous dress ever. And I LOOOVE ME SOME POLKA DOTS. (LOL!)

We were scheduled to celebrate our Pastor’s Anniversary October 9, and I knew this was the dress for me. I already had a similar fabric in my stash so I went for it.

I had to draft the peplum using the Hand London’s circle skirt calculations. The calculations already included the seam allowance, so I was good to go! I used a sleeve pattern and measured for the peplum to start right above my elbow.

img_20161007_142618
Making my peplum pattern😊

I actually cut out two peplums for my dress. I used the same measurements but they were an inch short difference in the length.

screenshot_2016-10-10-10-25-41-1
Pattern used for body of the dress

Could you believe that this was my first time using those double darts? Oh now I’m a pro.Fear no longer has me bound. I was like, what took me so long!

Without further ado, here are the finished results, and the pattern review.

Pattern Description: New Look 6430

Pattern Sizing:US Size 8-18

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? It varied slightly differently.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were very clear to follow. It was a very quick sew.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I loved the fact that the dress itself was only 4 pieces. The fewer the number the easier the project in my opinion.

Fabric Used: Cotton, purchased from WalMart

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I used a sleeve from another pattern for this dress. I also shortened the sleeve so that it stopped right at my elbow. I then drafted a peplum for the bottom portion of the sleeve.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I would sew it again.

Conclusion:
I think that this pattern is great for anyone. It has endless possibilities with various modifications that can be added. I know that I will definitely sew it again.

img_20161009_181620
DIY DOUBLE PEPLUM SLEEVED DRES

Smile😊

20161009_175232
I straightened my hair❤

20161009_175237img_20161009_180221

img_20161007_103741
Inspiration photo
20161009_175213
Back of dress**pics taken after church**
20161009_175224
*Flips Hair*
20161009_175202
The tennis shoes were a back up😂

So what do you guys think? Tutorial coming up on the peplum sleeve❤Be on the lookout.

6 thoughts on “DIY Double Peplum Sleeve dress

Tell Me What Ya'll Think

