Day and Night Dress Challenge Reveal


Hey Y’all,

Today I finally get to reveal the dresses that I have made for the Day and Night Dress Challenge! Kudos to Elizabeth for kicking off the new year with a great start for the sewing community!

If your memory needs to be refreshed, here are the challenge rules:

THE CHALLENGE: Day

The challenge is to make 2 dresses for yourself:

  1. A dress with a day look: This can be anything!  Shirtdresses, knit dresses, sweater dresses, wrap dresses, the sky is the limit.  Sew up a dress that suits your life and expresses your own sense of style.  I want to see color, pattern, and texture here.

I chose a knit dress for my Day look. I knew that it would suit my lifestyle perfectly. I’m a housewife, homeschooling mother of 4 boys, and I need to be comfortable at all times. I chose my poly rayon and brushed poly spandex fabrics from Knitpop.

 

  1.  
      Brushed Poly! I love the elephant pattern.❤
img_20170103_185433_008
Clean insides for my dress
img_20161231_191506_458
Sneak peek of the finished product. 
photogrid_1483994290754
New Look 6469
photogrid_1483994100871
New Look 6469

I love how easy the pattern was, but I do wish I didn’t have to install the invisible zipper in the back. The dress is great for me to slip on for an outing with the boys: library, park, or quick grocery store run.

 

THE CHALLENGE: Night

  1. A dress with a night look:  Night look dresses should be black, and they can be as fancy or as simple as you choose.  Think about a dress that could go to the opera or a cocktail party or anywhere else where you need to look effortlessly chic and sharp.

I searched and searched for a dress that would suit my style for this part of the competition, and my eyes settled on Butterick 6094. I love vintage clothing and I thought this dress would be a perfect look.

The fabrics I used were: cotton, gingham, and lace. I bought the cotton and lace from Walmart. I vlogged about that $15 box of fabric Here. The gingham fabric was gifted from my grandmother.

img_20170109_113920_270
Attaching lace to back facing 
img_20170109_090102_299
❤Lace❤
20170109_135012
Button Detail❤
20170109_122824
Lace and lining attachment 
20170109_122807
Lining
20170109_101056.jpg
Midriff pieces
20170109_100925.jpg
Darts in bodice 
PhotoGrid_1483994540764.png
Finished product. Effortless Chic❤
photogrid_1483999781205
I love the back detail. ❤
photogrid_1483999676834
Candid shots by my son. He takes all of my pics. ❤
PhotoGrid_1483999516517.png
❤❤❤❤❤❤

I hope you all enjoyed the pics. Please take the time to visit the other blogs and view their pics as well. Enjoy the tour!❤❤❤

THE DAY AND NIGHT DRESS CHALLENGE BLOG TOUR SCHEDULE:

Sunday, Jan 8th: Elizabeth of Elizabeth Made This, Brittany of Brittany J Jones

Monday, Jan 9th:  Maria of How Good is That?,  Tonya of Sew So Petite

Tuesday, Jan 10th: Je’Tua of Robertswife, Meg of Cookin’ and Craftin’, Melanie of Its Melanie Darling

Wednesday, Jan 11th:  Linda of Elle Gee Makes, Tee of Maggie Elaine

Thursday, Jan 12th: Bianca of Thanks I Made Them, Daniela of On the Cutting Floor

Friday, Jan 13th:  Melissa of Mahlicadesigns, Rachel of Sew Redy, Renata of Runnningnstyle, Sonja of Sewing ala Carte

Saturday, Jan 14th: Doja of Elewa blog, Judith of Judith Dee’s World, Tanya of Mrs. Hu

20 thoughts on “Day and Night Dress Challenge Reveal

  1. I’m with you on the need for comfort as a Mom! I haven’t tried Knitpop’s fabric, but I keep seeing it pop up (ha) online. Do you know if they have swatches? I’d love to see what the weight of their fabric is like. Your night dress fits you to a T. What a beautiful silhouette for you, and I like the effect of the gingham under the lace. Thanks again for your hard work!

    1. They have a Facebook group and I linked their website in my post. I do think that they have swatches, you will have to check for pricing. And thanks again for the opportunity to work with you and the rest of the ladies. It was a great way to begin the new year.

  2. The insides of your dresses are definitely clean, a lot cleaner than what I produce. I’m still figuring out how to use my overlocker 🙂
    Your night dress fits you wonderfully and I’m especially loving the detail at the back! You did a lovely job on your dresses! I love them both!

  3. Pingback: New Video Tutorial New Look 6469 – ROBERTSWIFE

Tell Me What Ya'll Think

