My New Love


Hey Yall

I have a new craft that I  wanted to add to the lineup. It is something that I have been eyeing for a while now, and I believe it will add to the fun.

I have decided to learn how to knit! I really don’t have anyone near me that would be able to provide private lessons.

20170111_122634
My new knitting needles and chocolate to help with my nerves.

I want to first say that I have absolutely no idea what I am doing so I did what anyone else would do; I asked for help. I placed this same picture on my IG account and received immediate responses. I was told to view the WoolandtheGang channel on YouTube.

I thought that  it was pretty helpful, but I saw another channel that also caught my attention. The video was entitled: How to Knit – Absolute Beginner Knitting, Lesson 1 – Even if You’re Clueless! I knew that this video had to be for me because I was indeed clueless.  I immediately fell in love with Ms Chandi’s personality. I mean personality makes the difference, right?!

Click on the link or watch the video below:

In this video, Chandi teaches you how to:

1. Work a slip knot
2. Cast on
3. Work the knit stitch
4. Bind off

Her instructions were very easy and simple to follow.  The pictures are my progress so far.

20170111_140155
Long tail cast on, 15 stitches
20170111_141752
I successfully knitted!
20170111_141755
How did I do?

Initially, my reasoning for learning was only to make my husband hats. He really didn’t like the crochet beanies because of the space in between the stitches. I wanted him to wear my creations and not waste our  money. I would rather buy more yarn or fabric!

I did run into a few problems with getting started. I think that I should’ve bought wooden knitting needles to begin on. My needles are  US 9 aluminum needles. The yarn kept sliding off as I tried to carry one stitch over to the next needle. (Bear with me as I have not learned all the terms as of right now.) Of course, I didn’t learn that until AFTER I bought the needles.

I hope to get a few projects made within the next few months. I believe that is reasonable time for a beginner as myself. I have plans in the future to do craft shows, so i have to get all of my merchandise ready! I most definitely see scarf, hat, cowl, and boot cuff sets in my future!

If you have any helpful hints to help on my new journey, feel free to drop them in the comments below! I am also on Ravelry.com. My username is msjetua. Feel free to add me as a friend!

3 thoughts on “My New Love

  1. Welcome to the world of knitting! A lot of people find they end up falling in love with a speciality technique like fair isle (colourwork) or cable knitting. I’d like to recommend learning how to hold your yarn continental style as it’s a huge time saver. Oh and using natural yarns they’re so much better for the environment and just nicer to wear generally. 👍

  2. I am all thumbs with yarn, no doubt to the shame of my Czech great-grandma who learned how to make fine lace growing up in the (now) Czech Republic. I am on Ravelry now though just to spy patterns. My mother-in-law is a very good crocheter, and she’s asked for patterns to be sent her way. 🙂

Tell Me What Ya'll Think

