When God Says, “No”


Isaiah 41:10 King James Bible
Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

 

“Lord, I still trust you.”

“Lord, I still trust you.”

“Yes, I still trust God,” I tell myself as tears roll down my face. I was really trying to convince myself.

I was trying to drown out those inner voices of doubt that were rising up. You know the voices. The voices that make statements like: “You knew it wasn’t going to happen.” “You really didn’t deserve it anyway.” “God has forgotten about you.”

Only minutes before, my husband and I were happily laughing at a sitcom when I glanced down at my phone. I saw an email that immediately dampened my spirits. My eyes teared up and my husband asked me what was wrong. I showed him the email. He brushed it off and told me not to worry about it.

HUH?

He just brushed it off, but I felt like my world had turned upside down. I had prayed about this situation. I felt that we had repeatedly received words of confirmation, but then…the answer was simply, NO.

Maybe my situation is different from yours but we’ve all been there. I’m referring to when you’ve decided that it was time to move by faith, you prepared, you began to make plans….and then it all fell through.

I have one question: Will you still trust God?

Will you still trust God when you are not healed of your affliction? Will you still trust God when the conditions on your job are not pleasurable? Will you still trust God when a loved one dies after you prayed for healing around the clock? Will you still trust God when your spouse walks out after being together for years? Will you still trust God after a tragic death of a loved one?

Its so easy to trust Him when things are going well. Its so easy to praise Him in great times. I believe that true trust in Him comes in the trying times. It comes in the times where it is hard to open your mouth to speak, when you can only moan as the tears roll down your face.

I know that it is a popular saying that when one door closes, God opens another. But sometimes the doors just shut, and that’s it. There will be nothing that follows behind.

Oh and what’s the rest of my story?

As tears rolled down my face, my husband cupped my face with his hands. We looked eye to eye for a second before he spoke.

“You are more mature than this,” he said.

You see, I wanted to get down and depressed. I wanted to lay around and walk around sad. I didn’t want to be mature!

He told me that God has a reason for everything. He said that God is still in control, and maybe His answer was no because we limited Him. He also reminded me that even if nothing happens, we are still blessed because we have HIM.

Hmmmm….

“Lord, I still trust you.”

“Lord, I still trust you.”

I repeat these words happily, because I know they are true. I wont be dismayed because HE is my God.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “When God Says, “No”

  1. Yes!! I agree! I was just thinking about this today. When we truly understand Father’s sovereignty no matter how traumatic the situation is I have to rest in the fact that it was His will. Yes! I will trust you!! Thank you!

Tell Me What Ya'll Think

